Thursday, December 4, 2008

Wants

So, I've watched Season 1 of Sons of Anarchy and have that feeling that I want a motorcycle again. Yeah I have the expensive YFZ450 BB Edition, but I want to get something I can use everyday. A motocross atv, I have to drive to a track to ride, and also pay $20 to ride. I could sell and only lose about 1k after its all said and done. Then I could go get a 3k motorcycle, something I can ride everyday or do whatever or whenever......agh!

then again, I want a car to mess with, make into a fun street/strip car

too many wants

Friday, October 17, 2008

In defense of Gen Y'ers article

On cio.com today, I read an interesting article focuses on the defense of us Gen Y'ers. Interesting enough, it hits the nail on the head...except the article also shows why we Gen Y'ers have an attitude problem:
http://www.cio.com/article/157050/In_Defense_of_Gen_Y_Workers

I agree with everything that is said, except we need to show more humility and understand that even though we have the drive and tools to do the job, we don't know everything. That's the real world, and we are having shock adjusting to it because its not how we were brought up. Read the article and you'll understand.

Wednesday, October 15, 2008

Doctors, what they aren't good for

So, I'm 28yrs old and I'm pretty smart I guess. I go to the doctor with all the symptoms of a sinus infection and that's what I tell the guy who spent all those years in school. After arguing that it is indeed a sinus infection, I finally get the prescription and take it to CVS. I sat in the doctors office for 2hrs, only for me to tell the doctor what is wrong with me and to get a piece of paper that says I can buy drugs from a pharmacy.....I realize this is how the system has worked for a long time, but really, wtf?

What happened to the days of the early Walgreens when the doctor could write the prescription, turn his butt around and grab the medicine off the shelf and give it to you? Why the third party stores that sell everything Wal-mart has (at a higher mark up)? I was born in the wrong century I guess......where are my pistols anyways?

Thursday, October 9, 2008

Drama, why does it exist?

Why can't women get along at the workplace? I mean seriously, shut the hell up and do you job. Don't worry about what the other women in your group are doing. Look at your monitor and do your job!

that is all...

Monday, October 6, 2008

If only I had a ......

The views and opinions expressed in the following blog post are just that, opinions. I will in no way act out or influence anyone to act like the following:

You might be a redneck…..

I have spent about 4yrs now in the Houston area and I have to say, I hate it. I am definitely not a big city person. The cement jungle is not for Rudz! Now that this has been established, I’d like to point out the general culture of this area, RETARDS! I cannot believe how many stupid people are allowed to drive in this area. People DO NOT know how to negotiate 3-way, much less 4-way stops in this world. I’ve seen some people get in wrecks, come close to getting in wrecks, people shooting other people the finger…..I sit back and say to my self, you’re a freaking retard. I see people talking on their cell phones on the interstate, in the left lane (fast lane for passing) going 10mph under the speed limit with a person right next to them going the same speed in the right lane (slow lane). I get right up on the person in the fast lane, give them the horn or turn on my high beams 4 times….and they finally increase their speed and move to the slow lane. Then as I pass them, they look at me with a face that says I did something wrong. Hang up the damn phone! Its like driving is the distraction of the cell phone, not the cell phone being a distraction for driving….I don’t get it. If only I had a paint ball gun.

Oil prices went from sub 100/barrell to 140+/barrell this year. I’ve seen the cost of gasoline increase so fast, its just unbelievable. The part that gets me, is how gas stations are quick to act on the news of the increasing price of oil, but nothing happens when the price decreases. Even today, the price of oil went under $90/barrell…..a decrease that has been happening since August. WHY have gas stations not lowered their prices at the pumps? During Hurricane Ike, I jumped for joy when I saw the Governor say on TV, “price gougers will be prosecuted to the full extent of the law”. So, why did I see a gas station on FM 2094 in League City selling gas at the pump for 4.50/gal? His sign said it was 3.69/gal but that’s not what the pump price was. SOB! Seriously, if only I had a paintball gun.

And for my last rant…..Walmart….don’t get a head of me readers. The self checkout line was designed for people that are intelligent and have less than 15 items in their basket/arms. Finally, an innovative solution to checking out at retail stores. But wait, what is this? RETARDS in the express self checkout lane!!!! OMG!! If you can’t freakin figure out how to work the self checkout register, get the hell out of my way! And why the walmart workers just stand there with a stupid grin on their face, instead of helping out the RETARD, is beyond me. Maybe if we opened up a 65 or older line, we’d avoid some of the people that go into the self checkout line. You should be shot in the leg with a….anyone want to guess…..freaking paintball gun!!!!

So, who would you shoot with a paintball gun?
How about that guy who jumps on the elevator (that is on the bottom floor) and sincerely asks you if you are going up? That guy!

How about that guy who keeps getting promoted when he seriously screws up on a project and blames it on the contractor? That guy!

How about the workers at Taco Cabana or Taco Bell or anywhere you go for food and they always mess up the order, when you speak so slowly and in clean English, what you want? Those people!

How about shoot myself? Why, I’m not a retard and lets face it folks, I just don’t do stupid crap….survival of the fitest….the way it should be, cause if it was, I’d laugh at how many people got shot with a paintball gun.

That is all…..for now.

Why Ghostpsalm

When I was 17, my friend Faris bought me a Playstation game called Medal of Honor. It is a WWII first-person shooter (FPS), and given my enjoyment of WWII history, I naturally fell in love with the game.

I didn’t play the game after entering into college and working full time, until 2003, when I built a new computer and bought the PC version of the game, called Medal of Honor:Spearhead. Transitioning into the world of online game play was a bit weird, talking to people on a headset that I’ve never met and learning to use a keyboard and mouse instead of a controller, was challenging. After many of nights playing until I couldn’t focus any more, I became quite good at Spearhead….so much that I needed a good gaming name, one that no one had and that would be remembered for years to come (I had a plan of dominance).

During my college years, I went to a Church where I met some Christian guys/gals who were into a different type of music that I’ve ever heard. I was introduced to Tooth & Nail record bands in 2002 and it changed my life. There is a band called Zao (though not really Christian anymore), that really spoke to me. The things I was feeling inside, my outlook on life and Christianity and so forth. There was a particular song called GhostPsalm, that really spoke to me about Death. I won’t go into the details, but the name seemed to fit quite nicely with my online gaming personality.

Anyways, enough with the background, now its time to let people know who I really am. I am GhostPsalm of the clan called Misfits, also of the clan called Men of God, also of the clan NoClan and also of the clan….I forget the name. Basically, I was in a lot of online gaming clans. To put it midly, ok not really, I became what some people call, a legend. When I joined a server to play on, people would either jump to my side or go to spectator view to watch me play. Only the slightly so daring players, went to the opposing side to try their hand at beating me and my kill/death ratio. Not many did.

There were of course some players like Marcus Aurelius, Death Become and Azathoth, who were the best players I’ve ever played against. Each person had their own gaming style and were the best with a rifle that I’ve ever seen in playing the game 3 years. I was a mixture of rifle and machine gun. It was simply awesome when two of us would meet on a server, say hello and then watch everyone quit and move to spectate to watch us battle it out.

Another fun aspect of GhostPsalm, was the strategic planning of matches that my clan participated in, in The Honor League. Each match consisted of playing on a map as both the Allies and as the Axis. Each match lasted about an hour and was just so much fun. I was the “general” in planning out strategy for each map and would call out to each player to see where our weak spots were during game play. But also, I was a “ghost” as some people would say, “GhostPsalm, you really are a ghost….you float around killing and no one ever sees you to kill you”. I did die, just not as often as everyone else. Though the championship trophy eluded me for most of my seasons that I played, I finally won the last year. On top of that, I won MVP for machine gun (smg as we call it) and finished 4 seasons in a row, in the top 10 players of the season (keep in mind there were more than 300 players each season from US, Canada, Europe). I even tied Marcus Aurelius for being the #1 player in my last year.

Boy, Rudy really is full of himself with this online gaming in Spearhead, you say. Truth be told, Spearhead was the one true thing I’ve ever been good at, and no one can take it from me. I have videos and plenty of screenshots of scores and what not, that I’ll cherish and share with my kids one day. I learned strategic planning and dedication to team mates, scheduling practice and match events, placing resources in the right areas of maps, learning how to build custom PCs, etc. Success is different for each person. Looking back, GhostPsalm really turned out to be a legend after all….and that is success to me.